Services & financeAnalysis 127

Best eSIM Data Plans for Europe

Before anything else: if you live in the EU or EEA and you are travelling within the EU or EEA, you almost certainly do not need one of these.

Under Regulation (EU) 2022/612, roaming within the EU and EEA is charged at domestic rates for anyone with an EU or EEA SIM — the "Roam Like At Home" rule, in force since 1 July 2022 and running until 30 June 2032. The 2022 recast also requires operators to give you the same quality of service abroad as at home, so 4G and 5G rather than being dumped on 3G. From 1 January 2026 the scheme also covers Ukraine and Moldova, alongside the 27 member states plus Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway.

So a travel eSIM makes sense for three groups: non-EU visitors (Americans, Britons, Canadians, Australians, Asian travellers), EU residents whose domestic plan has a small roaming fair-use cap, and anyone travelling to European countries the scheme does not cover — which is where the second trap lies.

The United Kingdom, Switzerland, Turkey and the Western Balkans are all outside EU roaming. Norway and Iceland are in; Switzerland — landlocked by EU members and inside Schengen — is not. A Zurich stopover on an EU SIM can cost more than the rest of a trip.

Two further findings from this research shape everything below. Not one "unlimited" Europe plan is actually unlimited — every disclosed policy is a 2–3 GB daily bucket followed by a throttle to around 1 Mbps. And the speed you get depends far more on wholesale routing than on the network badge: Ookla's 2026 study found latency up to 30 times higher than local subscribers on the same radio network, for exactly the same reason.

Methodology note

What this ranking is based on. Prices, country counts, fair-use policies and hotspot rules come from provider websites, the esimdb comparison database and named independent reviews, all checked on 9 September 2026. Regulatory figures come from Regulation (EU) 2022/612 and European Commission publications. Speed evidence comes from Ookla's Q2 2026 Travel eSIM Performance Penalty study as reported by Computer Weekly.

What we did not test. We ran no speed tests and used none of these eSIMs. The owner-feedback score reflects Trustpilot distributions and published review testing, not our own trial.

Currency. Most providers merchandise in US dollars even for a European product. Euro figures marked "approx." are our conversions at EUR/USD 1.1630 on 9 September 2026. Genuine euro prices were verified only for Orange top-ups and Holafly's French store.

Known conflicts we have not resolved. Every provider's country count is disputed between its own site, esimdb and independent reviewers — Airalo appears as 39, 41 or 42; Holafly as 33 or 40; Ubigi as 28 or 38. Airalo's own site served unlimited-only tiers while esimdb still lists its fixed-GB ladder, so the 10 GB benchmark may be mid-migration. Yesim's own site returned a redirect loop and its 10 GB total is derived from a published per-GB figure. Per-country host networks are published by only three of the eight providers.

Ubigi (Transatel / NTT Docomo) Ubigi EUROPE — top-scoring product 8.8BPR score
Top pick Ubigi (Transatel / NTT Docomo) Ubigi EUROPE

Key parameter

Price per GB, 10 GB / 30 day benchmark

Cost per gigabyte on a comparable regional Europe plan of 10 GB valid for 30 days, in euros. Most providers price in US dollars; conversions use EUR/USD 1.1630 as at 9 September 2026 and are marked as approximate. Where a provider sells only unlimited plans, no price per GB can be calculated and this is stated. Prices in this category change weekly and are frequently discounted by promotional codes.

How we score ↗

Published:
Updated:
8products analysed
Desk research, September 2026scope of analysis
€0revenue from manufacturers
  1. Top score

    Ubigi (Transatel / NTT Docomo) Ubigi EUROPE

    • approx. €1.29/GB — cheapest herePrice per GB, 10 GB / 30 day benchmark
    • €13retail price
    Details

    The cheapest 10 GB Europe plan we found at around €12.90, roughly 2.4 times cheaper per GB than Saily or aloSIM. Also the only provider that splits its catalogue honestly between standard and extended coverage.

    • Cheapest per GB
    • Best reuse
    • Honest coverage split
    • Smartstart
    • Data only
    • Strengths
    • Cheapest 10 GB Europe plan found: approx. €12.90, around €1.29/GB
    • Roughly 2.4x cheaper per GB than Saily or aloSIM for identical data
    • Only provider that splits standard and extended coverage honestly
    • Standard plan includes UK, Switzerland, Norway and Ukraine
    • One permanent profile, rechargeable across 200+ destinations
    • Top-up in-app without needing existing data or Wi-Fi
    • Smartstart: validity begins on arrival, not at purchase
    • Weaknesses
    • Country count disputed: Ubigi's own page says 28+, esimdb says 38
    • Turkey requires the more expensive EXTENDED plan at around €3/GB
    • Trustpilot 4.1 with 12% one-star reviews
    • EUR pricing appears to be a markup rather than a conversion
    • Per-country host networks not published
    • Some markets are 3G/4G only

    8.8 / 10good

  2. Orange Orange Holiday Europe / Orange Travel

    • approx. €1.43/GB (30 GB / 31 days) — with calls and SMSPrice per GB, 10 GB / 30 day benchmark
    • €43retail price
    Details

    The only option here with a real European phone number. A genuine French +33 line with unlimited EU calls and SMS, running on Orange's own network rather than resold wholesale capacity.

    • Real phone number
    • Calls and SMS
    • Own network
    • Best reuse
    • Registration required
    • Strengths
    • The only option here with a real phone number — a French +33 line
    • Unlimited calls and SMS within Europe, plus 2 hours and 1 000 SMS worldwide
    • Runs on Orange's own Tier-1 network, not resold wholesale capacity
    • 30 GB / 31 days at approx. €42.91 — around €1.43/GB including voice
    • Genuine EUR top-up pricing from €11 to €40
    • Line stays active indefinitely with a top-up every six months
    • Unrestricted hotspot sharing
    • Weaknesses
    • Country count varies between 30, 40+ and 41 across Orange's own channels
    • Tier pricing published in USD for a French product, in marketing-style copy
    • Sources conflict on 5G support: Orange Travel says yes, the reseller says 4G only
    • Online registration required — the only provider here with a KYC step
    • Not sold direct to non-EU buyers; you go through a reseller
    • Reseller support replies are slow, typically around two weeks

    8.5 / 10good

  3. Nomad Nomad Regional Europe

    • approx. €1.98/GBPrice per GB, 10 GB / 30 day benchmark
    • €20retail price
    Details

    Second cheapest at around €1.98 per GB, with the best large-bucket pricing anywhere here — 50 GB for $35, roughly €0.60 per GB. Hotspot policy is not published.

    • Best large buckets
    • Cheap entry
    • Published FUP
    • Good support
    • Hotspot unclear
    • Strengths
    • approx. €1.98/GB on the 10 GB benchmark, second cheapest here
    • 50 GB / 30 days at $35 — roughly €0.60/GB, the cheapest large bucket found
    • 1 GB valid for a full 30 days at $3, unusually generous entry point
    • Publishes its unlimited FUP: 2 GB/day then 1 000 kbps
    • Trustpilot 4.3 from 43 079 reviews, 8% one-star
    • Replies to 99% of negative reviews, typically within 24 hours
    • 5G on all listed plans
    • Weaknesses
    • Hotspot policy not stated anywhere we could find
    • Data-only status assumed rather than confirmed
    • Per-country host networks not published
    • 35 countries, fewer than Airalo or Ubigi EXTENDED
    • Website structure has broken links after a domain migration
    • UK inclusion listed but Switzerland and Turkey unverified

    8.3 / 10good

  4. Airalo Airalo Eurolink

    • approx. €2.67/GBPrice per GB, 10 GB / 30 day benchmark
    • €27retail price
    Details

    The best-documented provider here: published fair-use thresholds, an explicit unlimited-tethering policy, and the only one whose per-country host networks and measured speeds are publicly known.

    • Best documented
    • Unlimited hotspot
    • Published FUP
    • Known host networks
    • Data only
    • Strengths
    • Publishes its fair use policy explicitly: 3 GB/day then 1 Mbps
    • Unlimited tethering with no device limit, stated in writing
    • The only provider with documented per-country host networks
    • Independently measured speeds: 60-79 Mbps across Berlin, Madrid and Milan
    • Top-up supported — no need to buy a new eSIM
    • Separate EU + UK product for 28 countries
    • 5G on all plans
    • Weaknesses
    • approx. €2.67/GB — roughly double Ubigi
    • Country count disputed between 39, 41 and 42
    • "41 countries and networks" is not 41 countries
    • Airalo's own site served unlimited-only tiers, contradicting the fixed-GB listing
    • Trustpilot 4.1 with 16% one-star, the weakest large-provider distribution
    • 30-day unlimited at $71 costs the same as 50 GB at $70
    • Data only — no number, no SMS

    8.2 / 10good

  5. Saily (Nord Security) Saily

    • approx. €3.10/GBPrice per GB, 10 GB / 30 day benchmark
    • €31retail price
    Details

    Unrestricted hotspot sharing, a published fair-use policy, a bundled ad blocker, and the joint-best Trustpilot rating here at 4.7 — but €3.10 per GB, roughly 2.4 times Ubigi.

    • Best rated
    • Unlimited hotspot
    • Published FUP
    • Expensive per GB
    • Data only
    • Strengths
    • Unrestricted hotspot sharing with no cap
    • Publishes its fair use policy: 3 GB/day (5 GB in some countries) then up to 1 Mbps
    • Trustpilot 4.7 from 30 668 reviews with only 4% at one or two stars
    • Plans hold for 180 days before auto-activating on arrival
    • Bundled ad blocker and web protection
    • 24/7 live chat support
    • Unlimited 30-day plan at $49.99, cheaper than Airalo's equivalent
    • Weaknesses
    • approx. €3.10/GB — roughly 2.4 times Ubigi for the same allowance
    • Recurring Trustpilot complaints about coverage and slow data in some regions
    • Per-country host networks not published
    • 35 countries; Switzerland and Turkey inclusion unverified
    • Data only — no number, no SMS

    7.8 / 10fair

  6. aloSIM aloSIM Europe eSIM

    • approx. €3.10/GBPrice per GB, 10 GB / 30 day benchmark
    • €31retail price
    Details

    Sells genuinely in euros at checkout and allows hotspot use, with 24/7 support and a money-back guarantee — but the same €3.10 per GB as Saily and the weakest review distribution here.

    • EUR checkout
    • Hotspot allowed
    • 24/7 support
    • Expensive per GB
    • Weak reviews
    • Strengths
    • Sells genuinely in EUR at checkout alongside other currencies
    • Hotspot use allowed
    • 24/7 live chat support with a money-back guarantee
    • Ladder runs from 1 GB / 7 days up to 100 GB / 180 days
    • Top-up in-app
    • 5G supported
    • Weaknesses
    • approx. €3.10/GB — roughly 2.4 times Ubigi
    • Trustpilot 4.0 with 13% one-star, the weakest distribution here
    • The advertised "free international phone number" is unverified and probably VoIP
    • Complaints about slow app loading and long iPhone configuration
    • Per-country host networks not published
    • Only 2 211 reviews — a much smaller evidence base than rivals

    7.0 / 10fair

  7. Yesim Yesim Europe & UK

    • approx. €1.60/GB — derived, not directly quotedPrice per GB, 10 GB / 30 day benchmark
    • €16retail price
    Details

    Cheap on paper at around €1.60 per GB, with a 500 MB day pass at €0.45 — but the fair-use thresholds are published nowhere, and its one-star reviews are specifically about that.

    • Cheap day pass
    • UK included
    • Undisclosed FUP
    • Transparency concerns
    • Short trips
    • Strengths
    • 500 MB for one day at approx. €0.45 — the cheapest entry point here
    • approx. €1.60/GB on the derived 10 GB benchmark, third cheapest
    • 33 countries with the UK explicitly included in the plan name
    • Accepts crypto and Apple Pay
    • 5G listed on all plans
    • Weaknesses
    • Fair use thresholds and throttle speeds published nowhere
    • Hotspot policy not stated
    • Yesim's own website returned a redirect loop — the 10 GB price is derived, not quoted
    • Trustpilot complaints centre specifically on speed limits and misleading unlimited claims
    • 11% one-star reviews and the slowest support response here, typically a week
    • Per-country host networks not published
    • Data only — no number, no SMS

    6.9 / 10acceptable

  8. Holafly Holafly eSIM Europe

    • No fixed-GB tier exists — 30 days unlimited approx. €63.54Price per GB, 10 GB / 30 day benchmark
    • €64retail price
    Details

    The highest Trustpilot score here at 4.7 from 110,655 reviews — and the tightest hotspot restriction, the least transparent fair-use policy, and the highest cost per unit of realistic usage.

    • Most reviewed
    • Unlimited only
    • Hotspot capped
    • Least transparent
    • Most expensive
    • Strengths
    • Trustpilot 4.7 from 110 655 reviews, 84% five-star — the largest review base here
    • 24/7 support via chat and WhatsApp
    • Genuine EUR pricing available through its French store
    • Runs on Orange in France, a Tier-1 network
    • Activation begins on first connection, not at purchase
    • Simple product for someone who wants no decisions to make
    • Weaknesses
    • Hotspot capped at 1 GB per day — by far the tightest restriction here
    • Fair use thresholds not published on the product page
    • No fixed-GB tier, so no price-per-GB comparison is possible
    • Highest cost per unit of realistic usage in this ranking
    • No top-up — each trip requires a new plan
    • Data only, no number; calls via WhatsApp only
    • Three sources give three different hotspot policies
    • Country count disputed between 33 and 40

    5.8 / 10poor

excellent9.0 – 10benchmark in its category
good8.0 – 8.9minor trade-offs, a safe choice
fair7.0 – 7.9competent, but behind the leaders
acceptable6.0 – 6.9clear weakness in one area
poorbelow 6.0not published in the ranking

Scores comparable only within this categorySignificance threshold: ±0.15 pt

8.8 Our verdict

Ubigi's standard Europe plan is the cheapest 10 GB Europe eSIM we found, at roughly €1.29 per GB — about 2.4 times cheaper than Saily or aloSIM for the identical allowance. It also has the strongest reuse story here: one profile installed permanently, rechargeable across more than 200 destinations, with top-up in-app that does not require existing data. Backed by Transatel and NTT Docomo, it is infrastructure rather than a reseller storefront.

But check your itinerary before you buy the cheap one. Ubigi is the only provider that splits its catalogue honestly: the standard EUROPE plan covers around 38 territories including the UK, Switzerland and Norway; EUROPE EXTENDED reaches 48 or more, adding Turkey, the Caucasus and the Balkans — at roughly €3 per GB. If Istanbul is on your route, the €1.29 headline is not the plan you need.

If you need a real phone number, Orange is the only credible option here. Orange Holiday Europe gives you a genuine French +33 number with calls and SMS on Orange's own Tier-1 network, and the line stays active indefinitely if you register and top up every six months. Everything else in this ranking is data-only, which breaks SMS two-factor codes and calls to local numbers.

Holafly is the one we would steer people away from. It has the highest Trustpilot score here at 4.7 from 110,655 reviews — and the tightest hotspot restriction (1 GB per day), the least transparent fair-use policy, no 10 GB tier at all, and the highest cost per unit of realistic usage. Trustpilot scores track onboarding and support responsiveness, not network performance or value.

Do you need one at all?

EU Roam Like At Home, and the countries it does not cover

Regulation (EU) 2022/612 has been in force since 1 July 2022 and runs until 30 June 2032. If you hold an EU or EEA SIM and travel within the EU or EEA, roaming is charged at your domestic rates.

The 2022 recast added more than price protection:

  • Same quality of service abroad as at home — operators must give you 4G or 5G roaming where they have it, rather than dropping you to 3G.
  • Free access to emergency services and 112.
  • Automatic cut-off at €50 or a limit you set.
  • Transparency on value-added numbers.

Who is covered — 32 territories

The 27 member states and their outermost regions, plus Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway — and, newly from 1 January 2026, Ukraine and Moldova. That last addition is recent enough that most guides have not caught up.

Fair use for EU residents

Operators may cap roaming data if you are on an unlimited domestic plan or paying below the wholesale cap. The published formula is:

2 × (price of your bundle excluding VAT ÷ regulated maximum wholesale cap per GB) = roaming data limit in GB

Beyond that limit, the surcharge cannot exceed the wholesale cap plus VAT. There is also a permanent roaming rule: if you roam more than you use the service at home over a four-month window, your operator may apply surcharges.

A note on the wholesale cap figures. We verified €7.70/GB (2017), €2.50/GB (January 2022), €2.00/GB (January 2023) and €1.00/GB (January 2027). The intermediate years — 2024, 2025, 2026 — are commonly quoted but we could not confirm them from any source we reached, so we do not publish a year-by-year table.

The European countries outside the scheme

This is where travel eSIMs earn their place, and where travellers get caught.

  • United Kingdom — excluded since Brexit. Some operators voluntarily maintain the benefit, but it is not a right.
  • Switzerland — never in the scheme, and the single most common and most expensive trap.
  • Turkey
  • Western Balkans: Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Kosovo, Montenegro, North Macedonia, Serbia — negotiating integration, not yet in.

Note the asymmetry travellers get wrong: Norway and Iceland ARE in the scheme; Switzerland is not — despite being surrounded by EU members and inside Schengen. A Zurich stopover on an EU SIM can cost more than the rest of the trip.

Andorra, Monaco, San Marino, Vatican City, Belarus, Russia, Georgia, Armenia and Azerbaijan are also outside the EU/EEA, though the Commission source we used lists the scheme's members rather than enumerating every exclusion — verify individually if your route includes them.

"Unlimited"

Not one unlimited Europe plan is unlimited

Every single one is a daily bucket plus a throttle. Here is what each provider actually does, and — just as importantly — whether they tell you.

ProviderFull-speed daily allowanceThrottled toPublished?
Airalo3 GB/day1 Mbps for the rest of 24hYes
Saily3 GB/day (5 GB in some countries)up to 1 MbpsYes
Nomad2 GB/day1 000 kbpsYes
HolaflyNot disclosed256–1 024 Kbps above ~90 GB/month, per a third-party analysisNo
YesimNot disclosedNot disclosedNo

Disclosure quality is a legitimate buying criterion. Airalo, Saily and Nomad publish their thresholds. Holafly and Yesim do not put theirs on the product page — and Yesim's one-star reviews cluster on exactly that, with reviewers reporting the throttling made plans "almost unusable".

The arithmetic that undercuts the whole category

A 3 GB daily cap on a 30-day plan is 90 GB. If you use less than about 3 GB a day, an "unlimited" plan is a fixed plan with worse per-gigabyte economics and an added daily restriction.

Airalo makes the point unintentionally: its 30-day unlimited costs $71 and its 50 GB / 30 day plan costs $70. You pay the same for a daily-capped product as for a straightforward 50 GB bucket.

For most travellers, a fixed allowance is the better purchase. Unlimited makes sense only if you genuinely stream or tether heavily every single day.

Hotspot

The restriction nobody mentions until you are abroad

ProviderTethering policy
AiraloUnlimited, no device limit — explicitly stated
SailyUnrestricted
OrangeUnrestricted
UbigiData sharing allowed, no stated cap
aloSIMAllowed
Holafly1 GB per day cap
Nomad, YesimNot stated anywhere

Holafly is the outlier and it matters more than any price difference. One gigabyte of tethering is a couple of hours of ordinary laptop use. An "unlimited" plan you cannot share with a laptop or a travelling companion is not the product the word implies.

If you travel with a partner and one phone becomes the group's connection, or if you work from a laptop, this specification should be the first thing you check — before price, before country count, before anything.

And note that two providers state no policy at all. An unstated policy is not the same as an unrestricted one.

Speed

Why two people on the same tower get completely different results

This is the strongest piece of independent evidence available in this category, and it explains most of what goes wrong.

Ookla's Travel eSIM Performance Penalty study, Q2 2026, covering 190 destination countries and more than 50 travel eSIM brands:

  • Response times to the same network differ by a factor of ten between eSIM brands.
  • On one Japanese network, median latency was 54 ms with local routing versus 543 ms when traffic was routed via Madrid.
  • In the worst brand and destination pairings, latency was up to 30 times higher than for local mobile users on the same radio network.
  • Download speeds showed clear throttling signatures: one major brand clustering near 6 Mbps, free tiers near 0.2 Mbps.

The cause: home routing

Traffic returns through the provider's core network — often on another continent — before reaching the internet. True local breakout is still uncommon.

And roughly a dozen wholesale providers underpin most retail eSIM brands. So routing policy is a commercial choice, not a technical limit, and it dominates the user experience.

What this means practically

Two travellers standing on the same street in Berlin, attached to the same physical cell tower, can get wildly different performance depending on which wholesale carrier their eSIM brand resells and where that carrier breaks out to the internet.

A coverage map tells you nothing about this. Neither does a 5G badge. The only providers here whose host networks are documented at all are Airalo (Germany, France, Spain, Italy), Holafly (France only) and Orange (its own network). For Saily, Nomad, Ubigi, aloSIM and Yesim, this is unknowable from published information — which is itself a finding.

Travel eSIMs also resell wholesale roaming capacity, which is frequently deprioritised against local subscribers when a cell is congested. Expect worse performance at peak times in busy places than a local SIM would give you.

Coverage

Does "Europe" include the UK, Switzerland and Turkey?

It varies by provider, and this is the most consequential thing to check before buying. Switzerland, the UK and the Western Balkans regularly cut travellers off from standard coverage.

ProviderUKSwitzerlandTurkeyNorway / Iceland
Ubigi EUROPEYesYesNoNorway yes
Ubigi EUROPE EXTENDEDYesYesYesYes
Airalo EurolinkYesYesUnverifiedUnverified
Yesim Europe & UKYes (in the name)UnverifiedUnverifiedUnverified
SailyYesUnverifiedUnverifiedUnverified
Orange TravelYesUnverifiedUnverifiedUnverified
Nomad, aloSIMListedUnverifiedUnverifiedUnverified
HolaflyUnverifiedUnverifiedUnverifiedUnverified

Ubigi is the only provider here that solves the problem explicitly, splitting its catalogue into a cheap 38-territory product and a more expensive 48-plus one reaching Turkey and the Caucasus. If your itinerary includes Istanbul, the €1.29 per GB headline is not the plan you need.

Country counts are not comparable between brands

Providers count differently. Airalo says "41 countries and networks". Ubigi counts Gibraltar, Jersey, Guernsey, the Isle of Man and the Faroe Islands as separate territories. Every provider's number is disputed between its own site, comparison databases and independent reviewers: Airalo appears as 39, 41 or 42; Holafly as 33 or 40; Ubigi as 28 or 38; Orange as 30, 40+ or 41.

A higher number does not mean broader useful coverage. Read the actual country list, not the headline count.

Data-only

What breaks when you have no phone number

Seven of the eight providers here sell data-only eSIMs: no real mobile number, no inbound SMS, no calls to or from ordinary phone numbers.

What breaks:

  1. SMS two-factor codes and bank one-time passwords. Your bank, airline or government service texts a code to your home number. On a data-only eSIM that message has nowhere to land unless your home SIM is still reachable. This is the one that ruins trips.
  2. Calls to local numbers — restaurants, taxis, the apartment host, a hospital. WhatsApp does not reach a Sicilian trattoria.
  3. Being called back. Nobody can ring you.
  4. Forms that demand a local number. Some booking and delivery services reject foreign numbers outright.

Fixes, in order of reliability

1. Keep your home SIM active alongside the eSIM — voice and SMS enabled, mobile data off for that line. Inbound SMS while roaming is usually free or near-free to receive; it is data that generates the bills. This is the single most useful practical tip on this page.

2. Enable Wi-Fi Calling on your home line where your carrier supports it abroad — this delivers calls and often SMS over the data connection at no roaming cost.

3. Buy a plan with a real number. Orange Holiday Europe is the credible option here, with a genuine French +33 line and unlimited EU calls and SMS.

4. Move two-factor authentication to an authenticator app or passkeys before you leave. This is worth doing regardless.

Note that aloSIM advertises a "free international phone number" with a data-only plan — almost certainly an app-based VoIP number rather than a real one on the eSIM profile, which would not receive bank SMS. We could not confirm the mechanism; check before relying on it.

How it works

Installing an eSIM, and the one thing that will stop you

An eSIM is a rewritable chip soldered into the phone. Instead of swapping plastic, you download a profile over the air, usually by scanning a QR code the provider emails you, or through the provider's app. Modern phones store multiple profiles with one or two active at a time — which is what makes the "keep home SIM, add travel data line" pattern work.

Providers in this survey advertise install times of 90 seconds to two minutes. Orange Travel installs in-app with no QR code at all. Device support typically covers iPhone SE (2nd generation) and later, iPads, most modern Android phones, and Windows 10 and 11 laptops.

The carrier lock

A phone locked to a carrier will generally refuse a third-party eSIM profile, regardless of eSIM hardware support. Confirm your handset is unlocked before buying — refunds are inconsistent once a profile has been downloaded, and QR codes are single-use.

We should be honest about sourcing here: this issue is covered extensively on eSIM vendor blogs but we could not obtain a first-party statement from Apple, Google or the GSMA. The practical advice stands; treat the technical detail as vendor-sourced.

Buy before you fly

Most providers now use delayed activation — Ubigi's Smartstart, Saily's 180-day purchase window, Holafly's countdown on first connection — so the validity clock starts on arrival rather than at checkout. Install at home over Wi-Fi, days ahead. Trying to download a profile at an airport with no data is the classic failure mode.

Marketing decoded

Five claims to distrust

  1. "Unlimited." None are. Every disclosed policy is a 2–3 GB daily bucket followed by a throttle to 1 Mbps or slower. Airalo, Saily and Nomad publish the numbers; Holafly and Yesim do not.

  2. "5G." Every provider claims it. Ookla's data shows usable throughput depends on wholesale routing and traffic-class priority, not the radio badge — one major brand's downloads clustered near 6 Mbps despite 5G attachment, with latency up to 30 times worse than local subscribers on the same tower. A 5G icon on a deprioritised wholesale roaming profile is decoration.

  3. Country counts and coverage maps. Counts are computed inconsistently and inflate with micro-territories. "41 countries and networks" is not 41 countries, and Gibraltar, Jersey and the Faroe Islands counting as three territories tells you nothing about whether Turkey is included.

  4. Silence on hotspot policy. Airalo, Saily, Orange and Ubigi state theirs plainly. Nomad and Yesim do not state one at all. Holafly's 1 GB per day cap exists on the site but is not prominent next to the word "unlimited".

  5. Price display. Nearly every provider merchandises in US dollars while selling a European product. Ubigi's page showing "$35 (€35 EUR available)" is a currency markup rather than a conversion — €35 is about $40.71 at today's rate. Check the price in your own currency at checkout, and do not assume parity. Note also that promotional codes are visible everywhere in this category, which suggests list prices are rarely what anyone actually pays.

Methodology

How this score is built

The score is the mean of four component scores — each carries equal weight and each rests on a named source. The full procedure is described in the methodology.

  1. 01Composition and specification

    Declared composition and specification: active ingredients and their concentrations, energy classes, standards, technical parameters — and what the manufacturer leaves unsaid.

  2. 02Evidence and studies

    Verification of the manufacturer's claims against outside sources: laboratory reports, industry testing, safety data sheets, certificates and regulatory decisions.

  3. 03Owner feedback

    Analysis of verified reviews written after extended use, together with recurring fault reports for the model or series.

  4. 04Cost and value

    Price set against what the product actually delivers, plus costs incurred later — consumables, energy, servicing, subscriptions — over the lifespan typical for the category.

FAQ

Frequently asked questions

Do I need a travel eSIM if I live in the EU?

Usually not, for travel within the EU or EEA. Under Regulation (EU) 2022/612, roaming is charged at domestic rates until 30 June 2032, and operators must give you the same quality of service abroad as at home. From 1 January 2026 the scheme also covers Ukraine and Moldova. A travel eSIM is worth buying if your domestic plan has a small roaming fair-use cap, if you want a separate data line, or if you are travelling to the UK, Switzerland, Turkey or the Western Balkans — none of which are covered.

Which eSIM offers the best value for Europe?

Ubigi's standard EUROPE plan, at $15 for 10 GB over 30 days — roughly €12.90, or about €1.29 per GB. Saily and aloSIM charge $36 for the identical allowance. Ubigi's standard plan also includes the UK, Switzerland and Norway. If Turkey is on your route you need the EUROPE EXTENDED plan instead, at roughly €3 per GB — Ubigi is the only provider that splits its catalogue this honestly.

Are unlimited eSIM plans really unlimited?

No, and not one of them is. Every disclosed policy is a daily bucket followed by a throttle: Airalo gives 3 GB a day then 1 Mbps, Saily 3 GB then up to 1 Mbps, Nomad 2 GB then 1 000 kbps. Holafly and Yesim do not publish their thresholds at all. Note also that Airalo's 30-day unlimited costs $71 while its 50 GB plan costs $70 — if you use under 3 GB a day, unlimited is worse value with an added restriction.

Can I use an eSIM as a hotspot?

It depends on the provider, and this is the restriction most likely to catch you out. Airalo allows unlimited tethering with no device limit, and Saily, Orange and Ubigi all permit it. Holafly caps hotspot use at 1 GB per day, which is a couple of hours of ordinary laptop use. Nomad and Yesim state no policy at all. If you travel with a laptop or share your connection, check this before checking the price.

Does 'Europe' include the UK and Switzerland?

Not always, and Switzerland is the expensive trap — it is landlocked by EU members and inside Schengen, but it is not in the EU roaming scheme and is missing from several "Europe" eSIM plans. Ubigi's standard EUROPE plan includes both the UK and Switzerland; Airalo's Eurolink includes both. For the others we could not verify Swiss coverage. Always read the actual country list rather than the headline count.

Why is my eSIM so much slower than my phone at home?

Wholesale routing. Travel eSIM brands resell capacity from roughly a dozen underlying providers, and traffic often returns through the provider's core network — sometimes on another continent — before reaching the internet. Ookla's 2026 study found median latency of 54 ms with local routing against 543 ms when traffic went via Madrid, and up to 30 times worse latency than local subscribers on the same tower. Travel eSIM traffic is also often deprioritised when a cell is congested.

Will I still receive my bank's SMS codes?

Not on the eSIM — seven of the eight providers here are data-only with no real mobile number. The fix is to keep your home SIM active alongside, with voice and SMS enabled and mobile data switched off for that line; inbound SMS while roaming is usually free or near-free, and it is data that generates bills. Better still, move two-factor authentication to an authenticator app or passkeys before you travel. If you want a real number on the travel line, Orange Holiday Europe provides a genuine French +33 line.

When should I install the eSIM?

At home, over Wi-Fi, several days before you fly. Most providers now delay activation until arrival — Ubigi calls it Smartstart, Saily holds a purchased plan for 180 days, Holafly starts the countdown on first connection — so installing early costs you nothing. Trying to download a profile at an airport with no data is the classic failure mode, and QR codes are single-use. Confirm your phone is carrier-unlocked before you buy: a locked handset will generally refuse a third-party eSIM profile.

Sources

Documents and standards

  1. 1. Regulation (EU) 2022/612 on roaming on public mobile communications networks (EUR-Lex): https://eur-lex.europa.eu/legal-content/EN/LSU/?uri=CELEX:32022R0612
  2. 2. European Commission - Roaming questions and answers: https://digital-strategy.ec.europa.eu/en/faqs/roaming-questions-answers
  3. 3. European Commission - Roaming policy: https://digital-strategy.ec.europa.eu/en/policies/roaming
  4. 4. Engadget - EU extends Roam Like At Home through 2032: https://www.engadget.com/the-eu-extends-its-roam-like-at-home-telecom-rule-through-2032-172856900.html
  5. 5. Telecompaper - EU agrees to extend Roam Like Home until 2032: https://www.telecompaper.com/news/eu-agrees-to-extend-roam-like-home-until-2032--1407169
  6. 6. Computer Weekly - Wholesale routing choices create massive eSIM performance gaps (Ookla Q2 2026 study): https://www.computerweekly.com/news/366649276/Wholesale-routing-choices-create-massive-eSIM-performance-gaps
  7. 7. Airalo - Europe eSIM: https://www.airalo.com/europe-esim
  8. 8. Airalo - EU + UK eSIM: https://www.airalo.com/eu-plus-uk-esim
  9. 9. Airalo - Unlimited data plans fair use policy: https://www.airalo.com/m/resources/unlimited-data-plans-fair-use-policy
  10. 10. Airalo Help - Can I use tethering / personal hotspot: https://www.airalo.com/help/using-managing-esims/ZSEEHBT5HW6F/can-i-use-tethering-personal-hotspot/5XTAX1X7HR0B
  11. 11. esimdb - Airalo Europe plans: https://esimdb.com/region/europe/airalo
  12. 12. esimdb - Nomad Europe plans: https://esimdb.com/region/europe/nomad
  13. 13. esimdb - Yesim Europe plans: https://esimdb.com/region/europe/yesim
  14. 14. esimdb - Orange Travel Europe plans: https://esimdb.com/region/europe/orange-travel
  15. 15. Holafly - eSIM Europe: https://esim.holafly.com/esim-europe/
  16. 16. Selectra - Holafly eSIM France analysis: https://en.selectra.info/broadband-phone-france/esim-france/holafly
  17. 17. eSIM.school - Holafly review 2026: https://esim.school/en/learn/holafly-review-2026/
  18. 18. Saily - eSIM for Europe: https://saily.com/esim-europe/
  19. 19. Ubigi - Europe data plans: https://cellulardata.ubigi.com/rates-and-coverage/europe-data-plans/
  20. 20. Ubigi - Europe Extended 10 GB / 30 days: https://cellulardata.ubigi.com/rates-and-coverage/europe-extended-data-plans/europe-extended-10gb-30-days/
  21. 21. aloSIM - Europe eSIM: https://www.alosim.com/europe-esim/
  22. 22. Orange Travel - Orange Holiday Europe eSIM plans and pricing: https://news.travel.orange.com/en/orange-holiday-europe-esim-plans-pricing
  23. 23. SimOptions - Orange Holiday Europe: https://orange.simoptions.com/
  24. 24. PhoneTravelWiz - Airalo Eurolink eSIM review with speed testing: https://www.phonetravelwiz.com/airalo-eurolink-esim-review/
  25. 25. Freaking Nomads - Best eSIMs for Europe: https://freakingnomads.com/best-esims-for-europe/
  26. 26. Trustpilot - Airalo: https://www.trustpilot.com/review/airalo.com
  27. 27. Trustpilot - Holafly: https://www.trustpilot.com/review/esim.holafly.com
  28. 28. Trustpilot - Saily: https://www.trustpilot.com/review/saily.com
  29. 29. Trustpilot - Nomad: https://www.trustpilot.com/review/www.nomadesim.com
  30. 30. Trustpilot - Ubigi: https://www.trustpilot.com/review/cellulardata.ubigi.com
  31. 31. Trustpilot - aloSIM: https://www.trustpilot.com/review/alosim.com
  32. 32. Trustpilot - Yesim: https://www.trustpilot.com/review/yesim.app
  33. 33. Trading Economics - EUR/USD rate, 9 September 2026: https://tradingeconomics.com/euro-area/currency

Principles

The manufacturer makes claims.
We check what the evidence says.

Every ranking follows the same protocol: an analysis of composition and specification, verification of claims against available studies, a review of verified owner feedback, and an assessment of price against what the product delivers.

No sponsored content · no paid placements