7Rank 07 of 8 · Best eSIM Data Plans for Europe

Yesim Yesim Europe & UK

Cheap on paper at around €1.60 per GB, with a 500 MB day pass at €0.45 — but the fair-use thresholds are published nowhere, and its one-star reviews are specifically about that.

Yesim Yesim Europe & UK — product photo 6.9BPR score
acceptable
  1. €16Price
  2. approx. €1.60/GB — derived, not directly quotedPrice per GB, 10 GB / 30 day benchmark
  3. 7 of 8in Best eSIM Data Plans for Europe
  4. 6.9BPR score 0–10

Review

What this product is

Written after the analysis, from the same sources the score is built on: the manufacturer's documentation, available studies and verified owner feedback.

Attractive pricing attached to the least transparent product in this ranking.

On the numbers it looks good. The comparison database lists $1.86 per GB, which works out at roughly €15.99 for 10 GB — about €1.60 per GB, third cheapest here. The entry point is remarkable: 500 MB for one day at $0.52, roughly €0.45, which is genuinely useful for a single-day stopover. Coverage is 33 countries, explicitly including the UK — which the plan name states, and which several rivals leave ambiguous. Payment accepts crypto and Apple Pay, and 5G is listed on all plans.

Now the problems, and they are structural.

The 10 GB total price is derived, not quoted. We calculated it by multiplying a published per-GB figure by ten, because Yesim's own website returned a redirect loop on every attempt. We could not read the product page.

The fair use policy is published nowhere. Airalo, Saily and Nomad all state their daily thresholds and throttle speeds. For Yesim's unlimited plans — $3.49 for one day up to $65.09 for 30 days, roughly €55.97 — no threshold and no throttle speed could be obtained from any source.

And its reviewers say exactly this. Trustpilot is 4.3 from 2,943 reviews with 11% one-star, and the dominant negative themes are speed limits, misleading "unlimited" descriptions and unclear pricing transparency, with reviewers reporting that fair-use throttling made plans "almost unusable". Yesim replies to 92% of negative reviews, but typically within a week — the slowest response record here.

Hotspot policy is also unstated.

The 500 MB day pass is a genuinely good product for a short stopover where the fair-use question cannot arise. For anything longer, buy from a provider that tells you the rules.

Technical data

Specification

Figures from the manufacturer's documentation, verified against available outside sources. Values we could not confirm are marked as declared.

Plan
Europe & UK
Countries
33, UK explicitly included
10 GB / 30 days
approx. $18.60, approx. EUR 15.99 - DERIVED from $1.86/GB, not directly quoted
Price per GB
approx. EUR 1.60
Cheapest entry
500 MB / 1 day, $0.52, approx. EUR 0.45
Unlimited
$3.49 (1 day) to $65.09 (30 days), approx. EUR 55.97
Unlimited FUP
Not published - thresholds and throttle speeds unobtainable
Hotspot
Not stated
Phone number / SMS
No - data only
5G
Yes on all plans
Payment
Crypto and Apple Pay accepted
Trustpilot
4.3 from 2 943 reviews, 11% one-star; replies typically within a week

Component scores

Where the score
comes from.

Four components, equal weight, each on a 0–10 scale and each resting on a named source. The overall score is their mean — the full procedure is in the methodology.

  1. Composition and specification6.4

    Declared composition and specification: active ingredients and their concentrations, energy classes, standards, technical parameters — and what the manufacturer leaves unsaid.

  2. Evidence and studies5.8

    Verification of the manufacturer's claims against outside sources: laboratory reports, industry testing, safety data sheets, certificates and regulatory decisions.

  3. Owner feedback6.8

    Analysis of verified reviews written after extended use, together with recurring fault reports for the model or series.

  4. Cost and value8.6

    Price set against what the product actually delivers, plus costs incurred later — consumables, energy, servicing, subscriptions — over the lifespan typical for the category.

Overall score = mean of four component scoresSignificance threshold: ±0.15 pt

What we liked

  • 500 MB for one day at approx. €0.45 — the cheapest entry point here
  • approx. €1.60/GB on the derived 10 GB benchmark, third cheapest
  • 33 countries with the UK explicitly included in the plan name
  • Accepts crypto and Apple Pay
  • 5G listed on all plans

Worth knowing

  • Fair use thresholds and throttle speeds published nowhere
  • Hotspot policy not stated
  • Yesim's own website returned a redirect loop — the 10 GB price is derived, not quoted
  • Trustpilot complaints centre specifically on speed limits and misleading unlimited claims
  • 11% one-star reviews and the slowest support response here, typically a week
  • Per-country host networks not published
  • Data only — no number, no SMS
6.9 Acceptable Rank 07 of 8 · Best eSIM Data Plans for Europe

Comparison

How it compares
within the category

All values come from the same analysis and are comparable only within the category Best eSIM Data Plans for Europe.

Comparison with the category leaders
ProductScorePrice per GB, 10 GB / 30 day benchmarkPrice
Ubigi EUROPETop score 8.8approx. €1.29/GB — cheapest here €13
Yesim Europe & UKThis product 6.9approx. €1.60/GB — derived, not directly quoted €16
Category average8 products analysed 7.7——

FAQ

Frequently asked questions

Why does the missing fair use policy matter so much?

Because "unlimited" in this category always means a daily bucket followed by a throttle, and the only question is where those limits sit. Airalo throttles to 1 Mbps after 3 GB a day; Nomad to 1 000 kbps after 2 GB. Both publish it. Without a published figure you cannot know whether you will be throttled after 3 GB or after 500 MB, or to 1 Mbps or 128 kbps — and Yesim's own one-star reviews say the throttling made plans almost unusable.

Principles

The manufacturer makes claims.
We check what the evidence says.

Every ranking follows the same protocol: an analysis of composition and specification, verification of claims against available studies, a review of verified owner feedback, and an assessment of price against what the product delivers.

No sponsored content · no paid placements