8Rank 08 of 10 · VPN Services
Windscribe VPN
The best-rated service on Trustpilot here (4.7 from 13,325 reviews) with open-source apps, unlimited devices and a flexible Build-a-Plan, but no independent audit on the pages we opened.
7.0BPR score
- €5Price
- No audit published (none listed on the pages we opened)Most recent independent no-logs or infrastructure audit
- 8 of 10in VPN Services
- 7.0BPR score 0–10
Review
What this product is
Written after the analysis, from the same sources the score is built on: the manufacturer's documentation, available studies and verified owner feedback.
Windscribe suits users who want flexibility and many protocols on many devices. The yearly plan was USD 69 (about EUR 61.47, or EUR 5.12 a month, at the ECB rate of 2 October 2026) and the monthly plan USD 9; a Build-a-Plan option starts at USD 3 for selected locations. Devices are unlimited, and the apps offer WireGuard, OpenVPN, IKEv2, Stealth and WStunnel. Windscribe says all its apps are open source.
The privacy policy is unusually specific about what is kept. During a session the OpenVPN/IKEv2 username, connection time and data transferred are held in server memory and discarded on disconnect; for 30 days it keeps the total bytes transferred, the timestamp of your last activity and the number of parallel connections. It states that it does not store session history, source IP or sites visited. The transparency page says zero DMCA and zero law-enforcement requests were complied with, but it does not say how many were received.
The gap is independent evidence: neither the about page nor the privacy policy mentions a third-party audit, so the evidence score is low. The legal entity is shown only as Windscribe Limited, without a country on the pages we opened. Trustpilot shows 4.7 from 13,325 reviews; complaints focus on hard-to-reach human support.
Technical data
Specification
Figures from the manufacturer's documentation, verified against available outside sources. Values we could not confirm are marked as declared.
- Effective monthly price
- EUR 5.12 (USD 69 per year)
- Longest term
- 12 months
- Total billed
- EUR 61.47 (USD 69)
- Renewal price
- Not stated separately
- Monthly plan
- USD 9 (about EUR 8.02)
- Build-a-Plan
- From USD 3
- Currency note
- USD list price converted at ECB rate of 2 Oct 2026 (1 EUR = 1.1225 USD); local EUR price may differ
- Devices
- Unlimited
- Protocols
- WireGuard, OpenVPN, IKEv2, Stealth, WStunnel
- Data kept 30 days
- Total bytes, last-activity timestamp, parallel connections
- Legal entity
- Windscribe Limited (country not stated)
- Independent audit
- Not published
Component scores
Where the score
comes from.
Four components, equal weight, each on a 0–10 scale and each resting on a named source. The overall score is their mean — the full procedure is in the methodology.
What we liked
- Trustpilot 4.7 from 13,325 reviews
- Unlimited devices
- Open-source apps
- Five protocols incl. Stealth and WStunnel
- Build-a-Plan from USD 3
Worth knowing
- No independent audit published
- Keeps 30-day usage counters (bytes, last activity)
- Jurisdiction not stated on pages opened
- Transparency page gives no request totals
Comparison
How it compares
within the category
All values come from the same analysis and are comparable only within the category VPN Services.
| Product | Score | Most recent independent no-logs or infrastructure audit | Price |
|---|---|---|---|
| VPNTop score | 8.1 | Cure53 infrastructure audit, published 27 Jun 2024 (public); latest app audit Leviathan (Android), 1 Jun 2026 — published by Mullvad | €5 |
| VPNThis product | 7.0 | No audit published (none listed on the pages we opened) | €5 |
| Category average10 products analysed | 7.5 | — | — |
FAQ
Frequently asked questions
Has Windscribe been independently audited?
None of the Windscribe pages we opened — about page, privacy policy, transparency page — mentions a third-party audit.
What does Windscribe log?
Its privacy policy lists temporary session data held in memory and, for 30 days, total bytes transferred, last-activity timestamp and number of parallel connections; it says it does not store source IPs or visited sites.
From the same ranking
Other products in VPN Services.
The same protocol, the same key parameter, the same set of sources.
-
No. 018.1/ 10
VPN
The only service here with one flat euro price for every term — EUR 5 a month including VAT…
-
No. 028.0/ 10
Starter
The cheapest Big-Four-audited service here at about EUR 2.22 a month on the 27-month Starter…
-
No. 037.9/ 10
Private Internet Access
The lowest effective monthly price in this ranking at about EUR 1.81 over 3 years plus 3…
-
No. 047.8/ 10
Basic
The broadest audit list of the big brands, with a public KPMG no-logs assessment from June…