8Rank 08 of 10 · Power Banks

VARTA Power Bank Energy 20000 (57978101111)

A well-known brand at a budget price (€29.45), with USB-C in/out and two USB-A outputs. The listing gives weight (435 g) but no output wattage, which makes it hard to judge.

VARTA Power Bank Energy 20000 (57978101111) — product photo 6.3BPR score
acceptable
  1. €29Price
  2. Not published (20,000 mAh only; output wattage also not listed)Energy in Wh and rated capacity at 5 V
  3. 8 of 10in Power Banks
  4. 6.3BPR score 0–10

Review

What this product is

Written after the analysis, from the same sources the score is built on: the manufacturer's documentation, available studies and verified owner feedback.

VARTA's Energy 20000 is for buyers who want a familiar battery brand at a low price and mostly charge phones, headphones and small gadgets. The Otto listing (sold by voelkner) shows a lithium-polymer bank with a USB-C port for input and output, two USB-A outputs, charging for up to three devices at once, and a weight of 435 g.

Ratings are good but thin: 4.9 out of 5 from 11 reviews. The price we saw was €29.45, close to the cheapest in this ranking.

The weak point is disclosure. The listing does not state output wattage, fast-charging protocols or watt-hours, and the box includes a micro-USB cable rather than USB-C, which suggests an older design. Without an output figure we cannot say whether it fast-charges a modern phone. VARTA's own product page would not load for us.

Choose it if price and brand name matter more than speed; choose the Samsung or Intenso if you want published output figures for similar money.

Technical data

Specification

Figures from the manufacturer's documentation, verified against available outside sources. Values we could not confirm are marked as declared.

Model number
57978101111
Capacity
20,000 mAh
Cell type
Lithium-polymer
Ports
1 × USB-C (in/out), 2 × USB-A (out)
Simultaneous devices
3
Output wattage
Not published
Weight
435 g
Width × height
79 × 22 mm
In the box
Power bank, micro-USB to USB cable, manual
Price seen
€29.45, Otto (seller voelkner)

Component scores

Where the score
comes from.

Four components, equal weight, each on a 0–10 scale and each resting on a named source. The overall score is their mean — the full procedure is in the methodology.

  1. Composition and specification5.0

    Declared composition and specification: active ingredients and their concentrations, energy classes, standards, technical parameters — and what the manufacturer leaves unsaid.

  2. Evidence and studies5.0

    Verification of the manufacturer's claims against outside sources: laboratory reports, industry testing, safety data sheets, certificates and regulatory decisions.

  3. Owner feedback7.2

    Analysis of verified reviews written after extended use, together with recurring fault reports for the model or series.

  4. Cost and value8.0

    Price set against what the product actually delivers, plus costs incurred later — consumables, energy, servicing, subscriptions — over the lifespan typical for the category.

Overall score = mean of four component scoresSignificance threshold: ±0.15 pt

What we liked

  • €29.45 — near the cheapest here
  • Two USB-A outputs plus USB-C in/out
  • Charges three devices at once
  • 4.9/5 from 11 Otto reviews

Worth knowing

  • Output wattage not published
  • No PD/PPS or Wh information
  • Micro-USB cable in the box
  • Manufacturer page could not be opened
6.3 Acceptable Rank 08 of 10 · Power Banks

Comparison

How it compares
within the category

All values come from the same analysis and are comparable only within the category Power Banks.

Comparison with the category leaders
ProductScoreEnergy in Wh and rated capacity at 5 VPrice
Battery Pack 20,000 mAh 45W EB-P4520Top score 7.774 Wh at 14.8 V (four cells in series) — published in the retailer datasheet; rated capacity at 5 V not published €34
Power Bank Energy 20000 (57978101111)This product 6.3Not published (20,000 mAh only; output wattage also not listed) €29
Category average10 products analysed 6.7——

FAQ

Frequently asked questions

How fast does the VARTA Energy 20000 charge?

The listing we saw does not state output wattage or fast-charging protocols, so we cannot say.

Which cable is included?

A micro-USB to USB cable, according to the Otto listing.

Principles

The manufacturer makes claims.
We check what the evidence says.

Every ranking follows the same protocol: an analysis of composition and specification, verification of claims against available studies, a review of verified owner feedback, and an assessment of price against what the product delivers.

No sponsored content · no paid placements