4Rank 04 of 8 · Best Electric Toothbrushes

prokudent (Rossmann) prokudent Sonic LCD

A drugstore own-brand at €34.99 with €2.65 heads, giving the lowest five-year cost here at about €88 — and a Stiftung Warentest grade of 2.4 "gut", improved from 3.0 in 2023.

prokudent (Rossmann) prokudent Sonic LCD — product photo 8.0BPR score
good
  1. €35Price
  2. approx. €88 over five years — the lowest hereFive-year cost of ownership
  3. 4 of 8in Best Electric Toothbrushes
  4. 8.0BPR score 0–10

Review

What this product is

Written after the analysis, from the same sources the score is built on: the manufacturer's documentation, available studies and verified owner feedback.

The cost-of-ownership winner, and a useful demonstration that the drugstore shelf is not a compromise.

Stiftung Warentest graded it 2.4 "gut" in 2025, up from 3.0 "befriedigend" in 2023 — a genuine improvement between generations. ETM Testmagazin scored it 84.3% "gut" and made it their price-performance winner in 2020.

The economics are the point. At €34.99 with heads at €2.65 — €5.29 for two, stocked in every Rossmann store — the five-year total is about €88. That is €26 less than the Oral-B Pro 3, €106 less than the iO 3, and €437 less than the Curaprox.

It is a sonic brush at 31,000 movements per minute with four modes (Normal, Soft, Massage, Brightening) and a timer with an interval pacer.

Two real compromises. There is no pressure sensor — the one hardware feature with supporting trial evidence, from a 36-month randomised study in people with existing recession. And charging takes about ten hours for roughly 50 minutes of use, or about twelve days of brushing. The long charge and short runtime suggest a nickel-metal-hydride rather than lithium cell, though the chemistry is not stated and that is our inference.

Stiftung Warentest's verdict on the four modes was "Großes Bedienspektrum, aber nur durchschnittliche Putzleistung" — plenty of settings, average cleaning. Which is precisely the point about mode counts.

Buy it if the budget is genuinely tight, or as a second brush. The €12.50 more for an Oral-B Pro 3 buys you a pressure sensor and oscillating-rotating action, and that is the upgrade we would make first.

Technical data

Specification

Figures from the manufacturer's documentation, verified against available outside sources. Values we could not confirm are marked as declared.

Technology
Sonic / vibrating
Movements
31 000 per minute
Modes
4 - Normal, Soft, Massage, Brightening
Pressure sensor
None
Timer
Yes, with interval pacer
Battery
approx. 12 days / 50 min per charge; approx. 10 hours to charge
App
None
Head price
EUR 5.29 for 2 = EUR 2.65 each (prokudent universal)
Five-year cost
approx. EUR 88 - lowest here
Stiftung Warentest 2025
2.4 gut (was 3.0 in 2023)
ETM Testmagazin 2020
84.3% gut, price-performance winner
Price
EUR 34.99

Component scores

Where the score
comes from.

Four components, equal weight, each on a 0–10 scale and each resting on a named source. The overall score is their mean — the full procedure is in the methodology.

  1. Composition and specification6.4

    Declared composition and specification: active ingredients and their concentrations, energy classes, standards, technical parameters — and what the manufacturer leaves unsaid.

  2. Evidence and studies8.2

    Verification of the manufacturer's claims against outside sources: laboratory reports, industry testing, safety data sheets, certificates and regulatory decisions.

  3. Owner feedback7.6

    Analysis of verified reviews written after extended use, together with recurring fault reports for the model or series.

  4. Cost and value9.9

    Price set against what the product actually delivers, plus costs incurred later — consumables, energy, servicing, subscriptions — over the lifespan typical for the category.

Overall score = mean of four component scoresSignificance threshold: ±0.15 pt

What we liked

  • €88 over five years — the lowest cost of ownership in this ranking
  • Heads at €2.65, stocked in every Rossmann store
  • Stiftung Warentest 2.4 gut in 2025, improved from 3.0 in 2023
  • ETM Testmagazin 84.3% and price-performance winner
  • 31 000 movements per minute with four modes
  • €34.99 — the cheapest brush here

Worth knowing

  • No pressure sensor — the one feature with supporting trial evidence
  • About 10 hours to charge for roughly 50 minutes of use
  • Battery chemistry not stated; the charge profile suggests NiMH
  • Stiftung Warentest: plenty of settings, average cleaning
  • Available through Rossmann rather than general retail
8.0 Good Rank 04 of 8 · Best Electric Toothbrushes

Comparison

How it compares
within the category

All values come from the same analysis and are comparable only within the category Best Electric Toothbrushes.

Comparison with the category leaders
ProductScoreFive-year cost of ownershipPrice
Philips Sonicare 5500Top score 8.8€265 with genuine heads / approx. €110 with third-party heads €75
prokudent Sonic LCDThis product 8.0approx. €88 over five years — the lowest here €35
Category average8 products analysed 7.8——

FAQ

Frequently asked questions

Does the missing pressure sensor matter?

It is the one hardware feature with supporting trial evidence. A 36-month randomised study of 87 people with existing recession of 2 mm or more found powered brushing with a visual pressure sensor produced -0.10 mm of recession change against +0.17 mm for manual brushing, with 10.6% of sites worsening by 1 mm or more against 25.5%. Note that was powered-versus-manual, not sensor-versus-no-sensor — no trial has isolated the sensor itself. If you brush hard or already have recession, spend the extra €12.50 on the Oral-B Pro 3.

Principles

The manufacturer makes claims.
We check what the evidence says.

Every ranking follows the same protocol: an analysis of composition and specification, verification of claims against available studies, a review of verified owner feedback, and an assessment of price against what the product delivers.

No sponsored content · no paid placements