2Rank 02 of 10 · Washing Machines 9 kg

LG F4WX809YC

The lowest label consumption in this ranking and a 1.8 from Stiftung Warentest, just behind the Bosch and Siemens winners, for around €600.

LG F4WX809YC — product photo 8.2BPR score
good
  1. €599Price
  2. 39 kWh per 100 cycles — published by LGWeighted energy consumption per 100 cycles (kWh)
  3. 2 of 10in Washing Machines 9 kg
  4. 8.2BPR score 0–10

Review

What this product is

Written after the analysis, from the same sources the score is built on: the manufacturer's documentation, available studies and verified owner feedback.

LG markets the F4WX809YC as "A −20 %", and the label figure backs that up: 39 kWh per 100 cycles, against 49 kWh for five other machines here. Water is 47 litres per cycle, spin class B, spin noise 72 dB(A). LG's page states 228 minutes for Eco 40-60, right at the regulatory ceiling for 9 kg, and a label spin speed of 1,350 rpm although the model is sold as a 1,400 rpm machine.

Stiftung Warentest graded it 1.8 in issue 11/2025. The summary on testberichte.de says it narrowly lost to the Bosch and Siemens winners and cleans laundry very well; we did not see the sub-grades. LG states ten years of warranty on the direct-drive motor.

It suits buyers who want a tested machine with the lowest running costs without paying Bosch money: we saw €599 at expert.de. What is missing is owner feedback — neither LG's page nor the comparison pages we opened showed ratings — and the noise class, which LG's page does not state. By the regulation's thresholds 72 dB(A) falls in class A, but that is our reading, not LG's declaration.

Technical data

Specification

Figures from the manufacturer's documentation, verified against available outside sources. Values we could not confirm are marked as declared.

Rated capacity
9 kg
Energy efficiency class
A
Weighted energy consumption
39 kWh per 100 cycles
Weighted water consumption
47 l per cycle
Spin-drying efficiency class
B
Spin noise
72 dB(A), class not stated on the product page
Eco 40-60 duration at full load
3:48 h (228 min)
Maximum spin speed
1350 rpm
Dimensions (H × W × D)
850 × 600 × 565 mm
Weight
75 kg
App connectivity
LG ThinQ (Wi-Fi)
Motor warranty stated
10 years

Component scores

Where the score
comes from.

Four components, equal weight, each on a 0–10 scale and each resting on a named source. The overall score is their mean — the full procedure is in the methodology.

  1. Composition and specification8.6

    Declared composition and specification: active ingredients and their concentrations, energy classes, standards, technical parameters — and what the manufacturer leaves unsaid.

  2. Evidence and studies8.8

    Verification of the manufacturer's claims against outside sources: laboratory reports, industry testing, safety data sheets, certificates and regulatory decisions.

  3. Owner feedback7.0

    Analysis of verified reviews written after extended use, together with recurring fault reports for the model or series.

  4. Cost and value8.5

    Price set against what the product actually delivers, plus costs incurred later — consumables, energy, servicing, subscriptions — over the lifespan typical for the category.

Overall score = mean of four component scoresSignificance threshold: ±0.15 pt

What we liked

  • 39 kWh per 100 cycles, the lowest figure of the ten
  • Stiftung Warentest 11/2025: 1.8
  • About €600 for a tested class A machine
  • Steam function and ThinQ app control
  • 10-year warranty on the direct-drive motor

Worth knowing

  • Eco 40-60 takes 228 minutes at full load
  • Noise class and the "A −20 %" footnote not shown on the page
  • No owner ratings found on the pages we opened
  • Label spin speed is 1,350 rpm, not the 1,400 in the product name
8.2 Good Rank 02 of 10 · Washing Machines 9 kg

Comparison

How it compares
within the category

All values come from the same analysis and are comparable only within the category Washing Machines 9 kg.

Comparison with the category leaders
ProductScoreWeighted energy consumption per 100 cycles (kWh)Price
Serie 8 WGB244071Top score 8.549 kWh per 100 cycles — Bosch data sheet €869
F4WX809YCThis product 8.239 kWh per 100 cycles — published by LG €599
Category average10 products analysed 7.4——

FAQ

Frequently asked questions

What does "A −20 %" mean on the LG F4WX809YC?

That its consumption is about 20 % below the class A limit. The label states 39 kWh per 100 cycles; five other machines in this ranking declare 49 kWh. We could not see LG's own footnote for the claim.

Is it 1,350 or 1,400 rpm?

LG's specification lists 1,350 rpm as the maximum spin speed, while retailers and LG's own page also describe it as a 1,400 rpm model. The spin-drying class on the label is B either way.

Principles

The manufacturer makes claims.
We check what the evidence says.

Every ranking follows the same protocol: an analysis of composition and specification, verification of claims against available studies, a review of verified owner feedback, and an assessment of price against what the product delivers.

No sponsored content · no paid placements