1Rank 01 of 10 · Face Sunscreens SPF 50

Garnier Ambre Solaire Super UV Fluid SPF 50+ with Hyaluronic Acid

The cheapest fluid here with a complete ingredient list on the brand's own page, six named UV filters and a place in Stiftung Warentest's 2025 face-sunscreen test.

Garnier Ambre Solaire Super UV Fluid SPF 50+ with Hyaluronic Acid — product photo 7.7BPR score
fair
  1. €10Price
  2. No UVA-PF figure; Garnier states 'very high protection against UVB, UVA and long UVA' — published by GarnierPublished UVA protection next to the labelled SPF
  3. 1 of 10in Face Sunscreens SPF 50
  4. 7.7BPR score 0–10

Review

What this product is

Written after the analysis, from the same sources the score is built on: the manufacturer's documentation, available studies and verified owner feedback.

This is the default pick for anyone who wants a light, inexpensive daily SPF 50+ for the face and is happy with a slightly alcoholic fluid. Garnier's German product page publishes the full INCI list, which lets you see exactly what is doing the work: ethylhexyl salicylate, ethylhexyl triazone, bis-ethylhexyloxyphenol methoxyphenyl triazine, butyl methoxydibenzoylmethane (avobenzone), drometrizole trisiloxane and terephthalylidene dicamphor sulfonic acid. That is a broad UVB/UVA filter set, and none of the three filters whose limits the EU tightened recently (homosalate, octocrylene, benzophenone-3) appears in the list. There is no 'parfum' in the published INCI.

What is missing is a number. Garnier says 'very high protection against UVB, UVA and long UVA rays' but publishes no UVA-PF or PPD value, so you rely on the EU one-third rule being met rather than seeing by how much. The fluid was one of the 14 products in Stiftung Warentest's face-sunscreen test (issue 4/2025); the grade sits behind the paywall, so we cannot tell you whether it was among the good eight. At 10.50 euros for 40 ml (26.25 euros per 100 ml) it is the joint cheapest product in this ranking, and the 4.7/5 average from 275 reviews on garnier.de is solid. Alcohol denat. is the second ingredient, which some dry or reactive skins will not like.

Technical data

Specification

Figures from the manufacturer's documentation, verified against available outside sources. Values we could not confirm are marked as declared.

Labelled SPF
50+
UVA claim
very high UVB, UVA and long-UVA protection (no figure)
UVA-PF / PPD
not published
UV filters
ethylhexyl salicylate, ethylhexyl triazone, bis-ethylhexyloxyphenol methoxyphenyl triazine, butyl methoxydibenzoylmethane, drometrizole trisiloxane, terephthalylidene dicamphor sulfonic acid
Texture
fluid
Pack size
40 ml
Price
10.50 EUR (notino.de)
Price per 100 ml
26.25 EUR
Fragrance
no parfum in published INCI
Water resistance
not stated
Independent test
Stiftung Warentest 4/2025 (grade paywalled)
Brand-site rating
4.7/5 (275 reviews)

Component scores

Where the score
comes from.

Four components, equal weight, each on a 0–10 scale and each resting on a named source. The overall score is their mean — the full procedure is in the methodology.

  1. Composition and specification7.8

    Declared composition and specification: active ingredients and their concentrations, energy classes, standards, technical parameters — and what the manufacturer leaves unsaid.

  2. Evidence and studies6.0

    Verification of the manufacturer's claims against outside sources: laboratory reports, industry testing, safety data sheets, certificates and regulatory decisions.

  3. Owner feedback8.0

    Analysis of verified reviews written after extended use, together with recurring fault reports for the model or series.

  4. Cost and value8.9

    Price set against what the product actually delivers, plus costs incurred later — consumables, energy, servicing, subscriptions — over the lifespan typical for the category.

Overall score = mean of four component scoresSignificance threshold: ±0.15 pt

What we liked

  • Full INCI published on garnier.de
  • Six UV filters named, including two long-UVA filters
  • 26.25 euros per 100 ml
  • No homosalate, octocrylene or benzophenone-3
  • 4.7/5 from 275 reviews on the brand site

Worth knowing

  • No UVA-PF or PPD figure published
  • Alcohol denat. is the second ingredient
  • Stiftung Warentest grade not visible without paying
  • Water resistance not stated
7.7 Fair Rank 01 of 10 · Face Sunscreens SPF 50

Comparison

How it compares
within the category

All values come from the same analysis and are comparable only within the category Face Sunscreens SPF 50.

Comparison with the category leaders
ProductScorePublished UVA protection next to the labelled SPFPrice
Ambre Solaire Super UV Fluid SPF 50+ with Hyaluronic AcidThis product · top score 7.7No UVA-PF figure; Garnier states 'very high protection against UVB, UVA and long UVA' — published by Garnier €10
Relief Sun: Rice + Probiotics SPF50+ PA++++Runner-up 7.5UVA-PF 19 (Spain lab) and 16.1 ± 2.4 (Korea lab), against SPF 63.1 and 52.5 — published by Beauty of Joseon €16
Category average10 products analysed 6.9——

FAQ

Frequently asked questions

Does Garnier publish a UVA-PF figure for this fluid?

No. The product page only says it gives very high protection against UVB, UVA and long UVA rays. The six UV filters are listed in the INCI, but no UVA-PF or PPD value is given.

Was it tested by Stiftung Warentest?

Yes, the 'Super UV Sonnenschutzfluid mit Hyaluronsäure' is one of the 14 face sunscreens in test issue 4/2025. The individual grade is behind the paywall, so we could not see it.

Principles

The manufacturer makes claims.
We check what the evidence says.

Every ranking follows the same protocol: an analysis of composition and specification, verification of claims against available studies, a review of verified owner feedback, and an assessment of price against what the product delivers.

No sponsored content · no paid placements