1Rank 01 of 10 · Video Baby Monitors

Alecto DVM2043

The only monitor here with a named, public independent result: Stiftung Warentest reports it as the best video model in Consumentenbond's 2026 test of 25 baby monitors. No app, no Wi-Fi, no account.

Alecto DVM2043 — product photo 8.0BPR score
good
  1. €148Price
  2. Closed link, no app — up to 16 h standby published by Alecto; 21 h measured by ConsumentenbondLink type and published parent-unit runtime
  3. 1 of 10in Video Baby Monitors
  4. 8.0BPR score 0–10

Review

What this product is

Written after the analysis, from the same sources the score is built on: the manufacturer's documentation, available studies and verified owner feedback.

The DVM2043 is a classic closed-link monitor: a pan-and-tilt camera and a 4.3-inch parent unit that talk only to each other. Alecto's own spec sheet lists 'Dual mode: No' and names 'Cannot be controlled with phone' as the single drawback, which for privacy-minded buyers is the point.

It is also the best-documented product in this ranking. Stiftung Warentest's summary of 26 July 2026 of the Dutch Consumentenbond test (25 monitors, 15 of them with video) names it the best video model, praising sound and picture and especially the image in the dark. The same report gives 21 hours of parent-unit runtime, which is more than the 'up to 16 hours' Alecto prints, and an average range of 49 metres, which Stiftung Warentest says could be better. That measured figure sits right at Alecto's 50-metre indoor claim and nowhere near the 300-metre open-field number.

What is missing: Alecto does not state the radio technology or any encryption on the product page, and its spec sheet says 'HD camera: No'. Owner feedback is thin and mixed — 4.14 out of 5 from 7 reviews on Alecto's shop, with two buyers criticising the night image that the testers liked. Alecto's shop price is €147.99; Consumentenbond's price list showed it from €119.25.

Technical data

Specification

Figures from the manufacturer's documentation, verified against available outside sources. Values we could not confirm are marked as declared.

Link type
Closed parent-unit link, no app (maker lists 'Dual mode: No')
Radio technology stated
Not stated on the product page
Parent-unit screen
4.3-inch LCD
Camera resolution
Not HD (spec sheet: 'HD camera: No')
Claimed range
Up to 50 m indoors / 300 m open field
Parent-unit runtime (published)
Up to 16 h standby, 4,900 mAh (21 h measured by Consumentenbond, reported by Stiftung Warentest)
Camera control
Remote pan/tilt, digital zoom
Security statement
None published
App and subscription
No app, no subscription
Extras
Night light (7 colours), 9 lullabies/sounds, temperature warning, up to 4 cameras, 590 g

Component scores

Where the score
comes from.

Four components, equal weight, each on a 0–10 scale and each resting on a named source. The overall score is their mean — the full procedure is in the methodology.

  1. Composition and specification7.5

    Declared composition and specification: active ingredients and their concentrations, energy classes, standards, technical parameters — and what the manufacturer leaves unsaid.

  2. Evidence and studies9.0

    Verification of the manufacturer's claims against outside sources: laboratory reports, industry testing, safety data sheets, certificates and regulatory decisions.

  3. Owner feedback7.0

    Analysis of verified reviews written after extended use, together with recurring fault reports for the model or series.

  4. Cost and value8.5

    Price set against what the product actually delivers, plus costs incurred later — consumables, energy, servicing, subscriptions — over the lifespan typical for the category.

Overall score = mean of four component scoresSignificance threshold: ±0.15 pt

What we liked

  • Named best video model in Consumentenbond's 2026 test, as reported by Stiftung Warentest
  • 21 h parent-unit runtime measured in that test, against 16 h claimed (4,900 mAh battery)
  • Remote pan/tilt, digital zoom and split screen for up to 4 cameras
  • No app, no account and no cloud: nothing leaves the house
  • Temperature warning, night light in 7 colours and 9 lullabies or nature sounds

Worth knowing

  • Spec sheet says 'HD camera: No' and gives no screen resolution
  • Radio technology and encryption are not stated on the product page
  • Measured average range of 49 m is far from the 300 m open-field claim
8.0 Good Rank 01 of 10 · Video Baby Monitors

Comparison

How it compares
within the category

All values come from the same analysis and are comparable only within the category Video Baby Monitors.

Comparison with the category leaders
ProductScoreLink type and published parent-unit runtimePrice
DVM2043This product · top score 8.0Closed link, no app — up to 16 h standby published by Alecto; 21 h measured by Consumentenbond €148
YOO Go+ HDRunner-up 7.1Closed FHSS link — up to 8 h, camera and screen both battery powered, published by Babymoov €150
Category average10 products analysed 6.7——

FAQ

Frequently asked questions

Does the Alecto DVM2043 need Wi-Fi or an app?

No. The camera connects directly to the supplied parent unit. Alecto lists 'Dual mode: No' and states that the monitor cannot be controlled with a phone, so there is no app, account or cloud service involved.

How long does the parent unit last on battery?

Alecto publishes up to 16 hours of standby from a 4,900 mAh battery. Stiftung Warentest, reporting the Dutch Consumentenbond test of 2026, gives 21 hours for this model.

Principles

The manufacturer makes claims.
We check what the evidence says.

Every ranking follows the same protocol: an analysis of composition and specification, verification of claims against available studies, a review of verified owner feedback, and an assessment of price against what the product delivers.

No sponsored content · no paid placements